Research Council

Established in
01/06/1995


Established in June 1995, the USJ Council of Scientific Research consists of the Rector, the Vice-Rector for Scientific Research, the Vice-Rector of Administration, the Vice-Rector for Academic Affairs, the University Secretary-General, the coordinators of scientific research committees of each campus, and the delegates appointed by the Council in their respective Institutes. It is chaired by the Rector, and it meets at least twice a year. It decides upon the priority of proposed research projects and votes on the allocated budget. The Council meets in the presence of the five representatives of the Rectorate and the scientific committee coordinators in order to make the final decisions regarding project acceptance.

 

Positions of the Research Council [PDF]

Chair of the Research Council
R.F. Salim Daccache, S.J.

Vice-Rector for Scientific Research
Dolla Karam Sarkis
vr-recherche@usj.edu.lb

Administrative Coordinator
Soha Daou Possik 
soha.daou@usj.edu.lb


Humanities Campus

Coordinator:
Jocelyne Adjizian Gerard
 

Deputy:
 Dr Nadine Abbas

 Delegates :

  Faculty of Literature and Humanities
  Jocelyne Adjizian Gerard
  jocelyne.gerard@usj.edu.lb

  Oriental Library
   Jocelyne Adjizian Gerard
  jocelyne.gerard@usj.edu.lb
 

 Faculty of Religious Studies
 Dr Souraya Bechealany
 souraya.bechealany@usj.edu.lb

 Institute of Islamic and Christian Studies
Dr Souraya Bechealany
souraya.bechealany@usj.edu.lb

Higher Institute for Religious Studies
Dr Souraya Bechealany
souraya.bechealany@usj.edu.lb

Institute of Oriental Literature 
Dr  Nadine Abbas
nadine.abbas@usj.edu.lb

Lebanese School for Social Training
Houwayda Matta Bou Ramia
houwayda.bouramia@usj.edu.lb

Lebanese Institute of Educators
Youssef Abdul Sater
youssef.abdulsater1@usj.edu.lb

Faculty of Languages
Claude Chalhoub
claude.chalhoub@usj.edu.lb

Faculty of Educational Science
Yvette Mrad-Gharib
yvette.gharib@usj.edu.lb

Institute of Theater, Audiovisual and Cinematographic Studies
Hratch Tokatlian
hratch.tokatlian@usj.edu.lb

Center of Studies of the Modern Arab World
 Jocelyne Adjizian Gerard
jocelyne.gerard@usj.edu.lb

 

Center for Research and Publications of the Christian Orient
Dr Souraya Bechealany
souraya.bechealany@usj.edu.lb

 


Campus of Medical Sciences

Coordinator
Dr Victor Jebara
 
Deputy
Nayla Sarji

Delegates

Faculty of Medicine
Dr Victor Jebara
victor.jebara@usj.edu.lb

Higher Institute for Public Health
Michèle Kosremelli-Asmar
michele.asmar@usj.edu.lb

Higher Institute for Speech Therapy
Edith Kouba Hreich
edith.koubaelhreich@usj.edu.lb

Faculty of Pharmacy
Nayla Sargi
nayla.sargi@usj.edu.lb

Faculty of Dental Medicine
Dr. Amine El Zoghby
amine.zoghby@usj.edu.lb

School of Midwifery
Assaad Kesrouani

Website
http://www.usj.edu.lb

Address
Rectorate
Damascus Road
PO Box 17-5208 Mar Mikhael
Beirut 1004 2020 - Lebanon

Telephone : +961 (1) 421 157
Fax : +961 (1) 421 001
Email : vr-recherche@usj.edu.lb